Everything Abridged

Stories

$39.99

For readers of David Wong, Paul Beatty, and George Saunders, an electrifying and wholly original collection of satirical stories that create a bitingly funny portrait of American racism, capitalism, and politics

This book is not yet published, but will be available from July 2022.

ISBN: 9781419760969 Category:

Dennard Dayle

Description

Framed as a reference work of humorous “entries” that offer trenchant social commentary, Everything Abridged presages a dark vision of the near future but tells jokes in the face of it: An intelligence agency operative uncovers a conspiracy to generate conspiracies and realizes his participation in the scheme. A Caribbean monarch meets four decades of American presidents and adjusts his country’s foreign policy accordingly. Experiment participants are asked to bring back a gun as quickly as possible. A copywriter on a space colony advertises a weapon with the potential to destroy his home during an intergalactic war.

These and other linked stories, many of which feature a speculative bent-about being Black in America, law enforcement practices in an android society, Olympic speed walking, consumerism, nuclear war, and more-are interspersed with hilarious, one-line definitions for words ranging from abolition to zygote, creating a sharply humorous portrait of American inequality. With his singular wit, sharp prose, and shrewd observations, Dennard Dayle captures the struggles his characters face to keep hold of their sanity in a society collapsing into chaos and absurdity.

Additional information

Weight 582 g
Dimensions 15.9 x 23.5 cm
Publisher name ABRAMS
Publication date 7 July 2022
Number of pages 352
Format Hardback
Dimensions 15.9 x 23.5 cm
Weight 582 g

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Everything Abridged”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dennard Dayle is a Jamaican-American writer from New York City. He is a graduate of Princeton University and received his MFA from Columbia University. His short fiction has been published by Clarkesworld, Matchbook, the Hard Times, and McSweeney's Internet Tendency. Everything Abridged is his debut collection.