Haegue Yang: Anthology 2006–2018

Tightrope Walking and Its Wordless Shadow



ISBN: 9788857239774 Category:

Bruna Roccasalva


The expansive spectrum of Haegue Yang (born 1971, Seoul) flows freely between social inquiry and history, personal life and collective memory, yielding images and experiences of enormous evocative power, in which objects, figures and places are inextricably linked. Yang employs a vast array of mediums, ranging from collage, video essay and performative sculpture to large-scale installation, in an on-going process of experimentation, where chance encounters with objects and materials generate unexpected forms, emotions and narratives.

Tightrope Walking and Its Wordless Shadow is a rich, fully illustrated anthology of fifteen significant essays and conversations on Yang’s work, traveling through recurring themes, such as abstraction and geometry, movement and performativity, folding and unfolding, and conveying their depth and complexity as interwoven entities. Published on the occasion of the artist’s first solo show in Italy, organized by Fondazione Furla at La Triennale di Milano in 2018, this volume also features images of landmark pieces that represent milestones in Yang’s oeuvre since 2000 as well as of her newly commissioned works.

Additional information

Weight 1090 g
Dimensions 17 x 24.5 cm
Publisher name Skira Editore S.p.A
Publication date 1 August 2019
Number of pages 416
Format Hardback
Dimensions 17 x 24.5 cm
Weight 1090 g

Bruna Roccasalva, co-founder with Vincenzo de Bellis of Peep-Hole, an independent art center founded in Milan in 2009. Peep-Hole wants to encourage people to take a closer look at each artist's practice through an articulate program that moves between the format of exhibitions, publications, lectures and conversations. She is artistic director of Fondazione Furla, in partnership with Vincenzo de Bellis.

The book includes texts and interviews by Lars Bang Larsen, Nicolas Bourriaud, Binna Choi, Doryun Chong, T. J. Demos, Yilmaz Dziewior, Patricia Falguières, Eungie Joo, Tom McDonough, Ute Meta Bauer, Bruna Roccasalva, Bart van der Heide, Anne M. Wagner.