Thurgood Marshall

The Making of America #6



ISBN: 9781419741043 Categories: ,

Teri Kanefield


Book six in the Making of America series tells the story of Supreme Court justice and civil rights activist Thurgood Marshall Thurgood Marshall (1908-1993) was a US Supreme Court justice and important civil rights activist. The book traces his life from his childhood in Baltimore, where he faced racial segregation at school, to his years at Howard University School of Law (he was denied admittance to white law schools) and his legal work with the NAACP. Marshall argued 32 cases before the Supreme Court-more than anyone else in history-especially against those cases that attempted to justify Jim Crow segregation. He became the first African American to sit on the Supreme Court, serving from 1967-1991.

Additional information

Weight 392 g
Dimensions 14.8 x 21.7 cm
Publisher name ABRAMS
Publication date 1 May 2020
Number of pages 256
Format Hardback
Dimensions 14.8 x 21.7 cm
Weight 392 g
Teri Kanefield is a lawyer and the author of The Girl from the Tar Paper School and the Making of America series, among other books. She lives in San Luis Obispo, California.