Vera Frenkel


Survey of the work by the Canadian multimedia artist

Currently out of stock. Please contact us for more information.

ISBN: 9783775732475 Category:


This monograph is the first extensive survey of the most important works by Czech-born Canadian artist Vera Frenkel. Her contemplative, transdisciplinary projects have been a presence on the international scene since the 1970s. Her installations, videos, writings, and websites address central issues in an age that is more affected by human migration, and violence than any other. Among her topics are politics of the archive, the impact of media on the shaping of cultural memory and forgetting, and the interplay of institutional and individual narratives. Among the works featured are String Games: Improvisations for Inter-City Video, No Solution: A Suspense Thriller; The Secret Life of Cornelia Lumsden (1979/1986); and …from the Transit Bar, (first seen at documenta IX 1992), Body Missing, (1994), and recent works such as ONCE NEAR WATER (2008-09) and The Blue Train (work in progress, 2012). (German edition ISBN 978-3-7757-3246-8)

Additional information

Weight 300 g
Publisher name Hatje Cantz Verlag
Publication date 4 December 2013
Number of pages 312
Format Hardback
Contributors Text by Anne BĂ©nichou, Vera Frenkel, Ryszard W. Kluszczynski, Sylvie Lacerte, Elizabeth Legge, Amy Marshall Furness, Griselda Pollock, Sigrid Schade, Dot Tuer, and Frank Wagner
Dimensions N/A
Weight 300 g


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Vera Frenkel”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *