Drafted

$39.99

From noted cartoonist Rick Parker comes his long-awaited graphic novel memoir about his time in the United States Army, when he was drafted to serve during the Vietnam War

This book is not yet published, but will be available from June 2024.

ISBN: 9781419761591 Category:

Rick Parker

Description

Drafted is a graphic novel memoir by Rick Parker, an inexperienced, introverted, and overly protected teenager growing up in Savannah, Georgia, in the 1950s. After flunking out of college his freshman year, he gets drafted into the United States Army and soon discovers how unheroic he actually is when faced with a life-or-death situation. Parker was lucky, and was stationed in Fort Jackson, South Carolina, unlike the 58,220 soldiers who served overseas in Vietnam and never returned, but the horrors of war still permeated his tour of duty. Coming to the realization that he is not cut out for a military career, Parker pursues his dream of becoming an artist. In telling this story, he writes about how the Vietnam War was the last war in the United States that used the draft; how the draft affects those who serve; and how we as Americans think of war. As an established comics creator, Parker also covers how being an artist helped him survive his time in the US Army. A compelling and unique graphic novel memoir, perfect for fans of Joe Sacco, Derf Backderf, Thi Bui, and Brian Fies, Drafted is sure to garner interest from Parker’s dedicated followers and new fans alike—already proven by the response to the award-winning short film Rick Parker, I’m Afraid.

Additional information

Weight 300 g
Dimensions 17.8 x 26 cm
Publisher name ABRAMS
Publication date 13 June 2024
Number of pages 224
Format Hardback
Dimensions 17.8 x 26 cm
Weight 300 g

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Drafted”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rick Parker is a letterer and cartoonist and the artist of the MTV Beavis and Butt-Head comic book series published by Marvel Comics. He is also the illustrator of the Ghoulunatics and a series of parody comics for Papercutz, which includes titles such as Diary of a Stinky Dead Kid, Harry Potty and the Deathly Boring, Breaking Down (a Twilight Saga parody), Percy Jerkson and the Ovolactovegetarians, The Hunger Pains, and The Farting Dead. He lives in Falmouth, Maine.