Let the Monster Out

$24.99

An equal parts heart-pounding and heartfelt middle-grade mystery about facing–and accepting–your fears, perfect for fans of Stranger Things and The Parker Inheritance

Available

ISBN: 9781419751264 Category:

Chad Lucas

Description

Bones Malone feels like he can’t do anything right in his new small town: He almost punched the son of the woman who babysits him and his brothers, he’s one of the only Black kids in Langille, and now his baseball team (the one place where he really feels like he shines) just lost their first game. To make matters worse, things in town are getting weird. His mom isn’t acting like herself at all-she’s totally spaced out, almost like a zombie. And then he and his brothers have the same dream-one where they’re running from some of their deepest fears, like a bear and an eerie cracked mirror that Bones would rather soon forget.

Kyle Specks feels like he can never say the right thing at the right time. He thinks he might be neurodivergent, but he hasn’t gotten an official diagnosis yet. His parents worry that the world might be too hard for him and try to protect him, but Kyle knows they can’t do that forever. Even though he’s scared, he can’t just stand by and do nothing while things in this town get stranger and stranger, especially not after he and Bones find a mysterious scientist’s journal that might hold answers about what’s going on.

But when faced with seemingly impossible situations, a shady corporation, and their own worst nightmares, will Kyle and Bones be brave enough to admit they’re scared? Or will the fear totally consume and control them?

Additional information

Weight 422 g
Dimensions 14.8 x 21 cm
Publisher name ABRAMS
Publication date 2 June 2022
Number of pages 320
Format Hardback
Dimensions 14.8 x 21 cm
Weight 422 g

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Let the Monster Out”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Chad Lucas has been in love with words since he attempted his first novel on a typewriter in the sixth grade. He has worked as a newspaper reporter, communications advisor, freelance writer, part-time journalism instructor, and parenting columnist. A proud descendant of the historic African Nova Scotian community of Lucasville, he lives with his family near Halifax, Nova Scotia. He enjoys coaching basketball and is rarely far from a cup of tea.