2G 87: Alejandro de la Sota

No. 87. International Architecture Review



ISBN: 9783753303109 Category:

Jelena Pancevac


Alejandro de la Sota probably arouses more impassioned responses in Spain than any other modern Spanish architect. His work is the subject of pilgrimages by architects and students looking for a unique way of working, an encounter with an almost magical revelation. Although he is a very well-known modern master in Spain, his is quite unknown abroad. This 2G issue presents a selection of building and projects of this forgotten modern master, from his first works built after the Spanish Civil War, as Esquivel village, to his master pieces, like the Maravillas school sports hall and the Provincial Government Building in Tarragona, and his later, not so known works as the Post Office building in León or the unbuilt houses by the see in Mallorca.

Additional information

Weight 878 g
Dimensions 23.7 x 30.3 cm
Publisher name Walther & Franz König
Publication date 18 June 2023
Number of pages 176
Format Paperback / softback
Contributors Edited by Moisés Puente, Introduction by Kersten Geers, Text by Alejandro de la Sota
Dimensions 23.7 x 30.3 cm
Weight 878 g


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “2G 87: Alejandro de la Sota”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Alejandro de la Sota (1913 - 1996) was a Spanish architect. Born in Pontevedra in Galicia he graduated from the university in Madrid in 1941. He was a promoter of the industrialisation of construction in the 1960s and his Maravillas gymnasium of 1961 was the first steel-framed building in Madrid. He was appointed as architect at the National Colonization Institute, Directorate-General of the Postal Service, Aviaco and Iberia. He was a Senior Lecturer for 16 years at the Madrid School of Architecture and gave addresses and lectures at many architecture schools in Spain and abroad, most notably at Architectural Association London, Technische Universität München and Harvard University. He received the National Prize of Architecture and the Gold Medal of the Council of Architects.