Roni Horn: Mother, Wonder



ISBN: 9783969991855 Category:


In the south of Iceland is Landbrot, whose geologic particulars present a unique landscape. It is a place closer to fairy tales than to science, indeed a place easy to imagine as the singular source of fairies and elves worldwide. It is easy, too, to imagine the sensual comfort and satisfaction to be found there. Mother, Wonder is the eleventh book in Horn’s ongoing series “To Place,” which she initiated in 1989 and exists only in book form. All the volumes focus on Iceland and the evolving experiences of the artist there; together they form a flowing dialogue addressing the relationship between identity and place. The titles to date in the coveted “To Place” encyclopedia are Bluff Life (1990), Folds (1991), Lava (1992), Pooling Waters (1994), Verne’s Journey (1995), Haraldsdóttir (1996), Arctic Circles (1998), Becoming a Landscape (2001), Doubt Box (2006) and Haraldsdóttir, Part Two (2011).

In “To Place” the viewer is me and the view is Iceland. This reciprocity is key to this body of work. Each volume is a dialogue spun directly out of this interchange. – Roni Horn

Additional information

Weight 600 g
Dimensions 21.7 x 26.6 cm
Publisher name Steidl
Publication date 25 July 2023
Number of pages 80
Format Paperback / softback
Dimensions 21.7 x 26.6 cm
Weight 600 g


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Roni Horn: Mother, Wonder”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Roni Horn was born in New York in 1955. Horn's œuvre focuses on conceptually-based photography, sculpture, books and drawing. Her solo exhibitions include those at Tate Modern, Whitney Museum of American Art, Centre Pompidou, Kunsthalle Bregenz, Kunsthalle Hamburg, Kunsthalle Basel, Fundació Joan Miró, De Pont Foundation, Fondation Beyeler and the Menil Drawing Institute. Horn's books with Steidl include bird (2008), aka (2010), Hack Wit (2015), Th Rose Prblm (2016), Remembered Words, A Specimen Concordance (2019), Dogs' Chorus (2019), Remembered Words (2022) and LOG (2022).