Sister Friend

A Picture Book

$29.99

Perfect for fans of The Day You Begin and Evelyn Del Rey Is Moving Away, a heartwarming new picture book celebrating the unique joy of cultivating friendships within your cultural community

This book is not yet published, but will be available from May 2024.

ISBN: 9781419767210 Category:

Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow

Description

Ameena feels invisible. It’s been that way since she started at her new school. But now there is another new girl in class. Ameena sees her brownness and her hijab, even though the other kids do not. Ameena wants to be her friend, but she can’t seem to find the right words or do the right things. Until one day, they find them together: “Assalamu Alaikum, Sister. Welcome.”

Additional information

Weight 422 g
Dimensions 22.6 x 27.5 cm
Publisher name ABRAMS
Publication date 9 May 2024
Number of pages 40
Format Hardback
Contributors Illustrated by Shahrzad Maydani
Dimensions 22.6 x 27.5 cm
Weight 422 g

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sister Friend”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow, M.S.Ed, is a Philadelphia-based educator and children’s book author. A curriculum writer and former English teacher, she has educated children and teens in traditional and alternative learning settings for 15 years. As an inaugural AMAL fellow with the Muslim Anti-Racism Collaborative (MuslimARC), she developed foundational curricular frameworks for youth and adult anti-racist programming. Her picture books and short stories, which feature young Black and Muslim protagonists, have been recognized as the best in children’s literature by TIME magazine, Read Across America, and NPR. These works include Mommy’s Khimar, Once Upon an Eid (anthology contributor), Grounded (coauthor), Your Name Is a Song, Abdul’s Story, and Hold Them Close. Shahrzad Maydani is an illustrator of Iranian-English descent, raised in Niger and Kenya. Her debut children’s book, Poetree, received the Crystal Kite Award and was a Spring 2019 Kids’ Indie Next selection. She lives with her family in California.