The Forever Now

Contemporary Painting in an Atemporal World



ISBN: 9780870709128 Category:

Laura Hoptman


Timeless Painting presents the work of 17 contemporary painters whose works reflect a singular approach that is peculiarly of our time: they are a-temporal, a term coined by William Gibson and Bruce Sterling, the originators of the cyberpunk aesthetic. A-temporality or timelessness manifests itself in painting as an ahistoric free-for-all, where contemporaneity as an indicator of new form is nowhere to be found, and all eras co-exist. Published to accompany an exhibition at The Museum of Modern Art that explores the impact of this cultural condition on contemporary painting, this publication features work by an international roster of artists including Joe Bradley, Kerstin Br├Ątsch, Matt Connors, Nicole Eisenman, Mark Grotjahn, Charline von Heyl, , Julie Mehretu, Oscar Murillo, Laura Owens and Josh Smith, among others. An overview essay by curator Laura Hoptman is divided into thematic chapters that explore topics such as re-animation and reenactment, recontextualization, ‘Zombie’ painting, and the concomitant ‘Frankenstein approach’, which describes a process of stitching together pieces of the history of painting to create a work of art that would be dead but for its juxtaposed parts, all working in association with one another to propel the work into life.

Additional information

Weight 1438 g
Dimensions 24.8 x 30.6 cm
Publisher name The Museum of Modern Art
Publication date 1 January 2015
Number of pages 184
Format Hardback
Dimensions 24.8 x 30.6 cm
Weight 1438 g


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Forever Now”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *