Posted on

The First Knowledges series

Let this series begin the discussion.’ – Bruce Pascoe

The First Knowledges series offers an introduction to Indigenous knowledges in vital areas and their application to the present day and the future. Exploring practices such as architecture and design, land management, medicine, astronomy and innovation, this six-book series brings together two very different ways of understanding the natural world: one ancient, the other modern.

Each book is a collaboration between Indigenous and non-Indigenous writers and editors. The series is edited by Margo Neale, senior Indigenous curator at the National Museum of Australia.

‘An act of intellectual reconciliation.’ – Lynette Russell

Songlines: The Power and Promise

By Margo Neale and Lynne Kelly

Weaving deeply personal storytelling with extensive research on mnemonics, this book offers unique insights into Indigenous traditional knowledges, how they apply today and how they could help all peoples thrive into the future.

Available now.

Design: Building on Country

By Alison Page and Paul Memmott

Aboriginal design is of a distinctly cultural nature, based in the Dreaming and in ancient practices grounded in Country.

This book issues a challenge for a new Australian design ethos, one that truly responds to the essence of Country and its people.

Available now.

Upcoming titles in the series:

Country: Future Farming by Bill Gammage and Bruce Pascoe. Available from 26 October 2021.

Astronomy by Krystal De Napoli & Karlie Noon (2022)

Plants by Zena Cumpston, Michael Fletcher & Lesley Head (2022)

Innovation (2023)

Posted on June 15, 2021